me-made: pintucks & perfectionism

memade40sImemade40sXII

With the completion of this piece, I feel I’m really starting to understand the mechanics of clothing. Face it – full-skirt-nipped-waist dresses are entry level, voluble enough to forgive most mistakes. There’s only so many pleated skirts a girl can make before repetition bashes her skull.

But this dress – forties, fabulous, and fitted – summoned precision I didn’t know I was capable of. I spent hours perfecting tucks and gathers, 40s fashion’s calling card, and I’m so pleased with the result. The dress hugs me into perfect form. I’ve finally begun to understand fabric implicitly: how to caress and cajole, how to make it do what I want with the mere threat of a pin. At a high enough level, mastery is indistinguishable from alchemy. I’ve finally had a taste of it.

memade40sVIII memade40sVI memade40sXIV

I got up early to shoot this dress on the first chilly morning in months. I changed out of it as soon as I finished, but the seed is already planted: I can’t wait to wear long sleeves and loafers for real. I stockpiled a few truly stunning cold-weather dresses over the summer, and they’re calling my name. And I miss wearing my hair down!

memade40sIII memade40sXV memade40sXI

Dress: made by me from Simplicity 35c 3884

Hat: vintage, via Gem’s Vintage Gems

Gloves: vintage, via Mainly Vintage

Belt & brooch: thrifted

Shoes: vintage, thrifted

memade40sXIII memade40sX

5 Comments

  1. Such an elegant dress! You look lovely! I am dreading the weather turning, as I have next to no cold weather clothes in my wardrobe that are remotely vintage appropriate.

Leave a Reply

