con artist

conblueIconblueVIII

I see conventions and other such “geek culture” repositories as a chance to be even more myself. Really turn the vintage up to 11 and wear the best of everything – fuller silhouettes, softer curls, more luxurious prints than I might otherwise choose. It’s like I’m cosplaying as me. The best part is being complimented on my “costume” – yeah, let’s pretend I put any effort into this at all!

conblueIV conblueIIconblueXIFunny how if you asked me to pick my favorite-in-the-abstract dress, I’d fumble and falter, but if you asked me to pick the one I wear the most, I’d beeline straight for this one. I got it from a brick-and-mortar shop two years ago. One replaced zipper and several reinforced seams later, it’s still kicking. It’s the perfect “just fancy enough” base. And it lends itself impeccably to pattern-mixing. In it, I feel like the gaudy old broad I’ve always wanted to be.

I got this hat a few weeks ago for $13 at an otherwise thoroughly average thrift store. Among the mall brands and ugly purses, I somehow found this baby. Everything’s coming up dried roses!

conblueX conblueXIV conblueV

Dress: ’50s vintage, thrifted

Hat: ’30s-’40s vintage, thrifted

Everything else: vintage, thrifted

conblueXII conblueVI conblueVII conblueIII conblueXV conblueXIII

 

4 Comments

  1. Such a pretty outfit, the dress is just a dream!

    It’s funny when we get complimented on wearing costumes, I get this frequently when I am at car shows and I haven’t even gone all out. A blouse and skirt prompted this once, which boggled my mind! Just goes to show how two simple pieces can give the illusion of ‘dressing up’ these days when jeans and a t-shirt are the go to x

Leave a Reply

