hop this way

hopix

Stepping out with modern friends is always an exercise in bystander whiplash. On my own, people usually assume I’m some kind of friendly ghost, confined to grandmas’ closets the world over and out for my yearly haunt. Seeing me interact with a girl in booty shorts and a beanie must be jarring: wait, she’s real?

hopi hopviii

It’s true, though: my friends and I make a rainbow coalition of alternative fashion. Elaine with the pleather shorts, Savvie with the pink mohawk, Holly with the mermaid hair, Skye in vintage. (Almost) all of us a constellation of tattoos. Burlington’s got style, and it was out in force during our annual Art Hop slash Pride parade. Amid all the glitter (can there be too much? we may never know), I opted for counter-counterculture in this ’40s dress I’ve been waiting all summer to wear. Such is the life of the iconoclast.

hopiv hopii

Dress: ’40s vintage, via Old Gold

Hat: ’40s vintage, via Fancy Lucky Vintage

Belt & brooch: thrifted

Shoes: Earth Origins

hopviihopvihopiii hopv

1 Comment

  1. That DRESSSSS. Hello, can I have it?

    Haha, I love that first photo of you with your friend! It is a little jarring to see my vintage loving bloggers interact with modern-attired people, but that’s what makes it so much fun.

Leave a Reply

