me-made: meni, middy, mici

redfallivredfallix redfallxix

I’d been planning, and subsequently putting off, an authentic ’50s middy haircut for some time. I may not have the wherewithal to make an appointment, but it turns out I’m more than capable of picking up scissors in a fit of impulse. I snipped off five inches on Saturday morning, and I haven’t regretted it yet. I’d still like to get it shaped into a proper middy, but right now I’m content just keeping a goddamn curl. My longer sets looked great first thing in the morning, only to fall like a sad souffle half an hour in. Hence spending the entire summer in buns.

redfallv redfallxiii I’redfallxxii

I’m loving this newfound bounce. Bonus: on the second day of my set, after the curls have lost some spring, they’re perfect for early ’40s elegance. October calls for kitsch and class in equal measure.

And this weekend was decidedly kitsch. I finished up this dress, thanks to a Goodwill bedsheet and my trusty Vogue 8789, and I knew it called for my most ridiculous petticoat. My red Malco Modes number suits only the fullest skirts. I gave this dress a full 120-inch sweep to show off the fabulous border print, and it just barely fit. The whole outfit screams “repro babe” – with the added thrill of knowing I haven’t paid a hundred bucks for a dress I could make myself.

redfallxi redfallxxv redfallxxi redfallii redfallvi

Dress: made by me with Vogue 8789

Hat: vintage, via Fancy Lucky Vintage

Petticoat: Malco Modes

Gloves: vintage, via Mainly Vintage

Shoes: vintage, thrifted

Cardigan & belt: thrifted

redfallivredfallxxiv redfallxxvi redfallxxvii

4 Comments

  1. GIRLLL! You’re on fire lately with these dresses! This outfit may be my favorite yet – the red details are just perfection! I love the new haircut – the curls are precious! You look fantastic!

  2. What a darling dress! And bedsheets keep surprising me in the wonderful designs they have! And they always seem to have just the perfect amount of fabric!

    xoxo
    -Janey

Leave a Reply

