step off my suit

newsuitvinewsuitiinewsuitx

A bigger part of my style ethos than I usually like to admit? Inaccessibility. Aspie problems, part the umpteenth. I rarely want to talk to strangers. To that end, I’ve been wearing a lot of suits lately. Does a lady in a suit look like she’s here for your bullshit? Emphatically: no. Better than the bitchiest RBF.

newsuitvii newsuitiv newsuitxii

It’s not fair and I don’t endorse it, but damned if it isn’t true: dressing like someone’s grandma means someones treat you like one. And grandmas – at least of the fur-and-vodka variety, if not the milk-and-cookies one – have earned the right not to hear about your dog, your dick, or your subscription to Watchtower.

What I’m saying is I want to be Malory Archer. Nobody fucks with Malory Archer.

newsuitix newsuitxv

Suit: ’50s vintage, via Barge Canal Market

Hat: ’40s/’50s vintage, via Bos & Ruby Vintage 

Blouse: antique (my great-grandmother’s!)

Brooch & shoes: thrifted

Gloves: gifted  newsuitxiii newsuitxviii newsuitxvinewsuiti newsuitxiv

 

2 Comments

  1. OH MY GOSH THAT SUIT. THAT SUIT IS SO PERFECT. This whole outfit is perfect.

    The more vintage I dress, the more I get talked to. But I’ve heard that people here are SO FRIENDLY so… people just like to talk. Ha! I also do not give off RBF at all. I smile all the time and I can’t help it.

  2. I’ve got say ~ I’m with Eyre in that it doesn’t matter if it’s a suit or not, if I’m in vintage people will talk to me. But I’m okay with it for the most part, so it’s not really something I tend to consider when picking my ensemble for the day. I do need to take a moment for this suit though… It’s literally my dream suit from cut to the plaid!! *swoon!* ❤

    xox,
    bonita of Lavender & Twill

Leave a Reply

