luddite tendencies

tanblazeriv

You’ll be seeing a lot more of me in 2017, because – feet-dragging though I am – I’ve decided to get a smartphone.

Thing is, I hate them. Honest to God, if all touchscreens blinked out of existence tomorrow, I’d be partying in the streets. They are so counterintuitive I’ve started to suspect it’s a feature, not a bug. I replaced my flip phone with a slidey-keyboard model last year, and that was almost too much for me. I’m quite content here in Luddite nation. Unfortunately, this really isn’t a great look on a blogger.

tanblazervi tanblazeri

I know I should be keeping up the social media end of my blog. I could get infinitely more hits by gramming or tweeting. (Is that the proper terminology? Grandma Skye can’t find her glasses.) It was never worth the hassle of owning a smartphone, though. Yet another expensive gadget to worry about breaking and yell at when it freezes up. It’s just not my thing.

Now that I literally have to get one, though (they just don’t make flip phones anymore), I’m looking forward to the silver lining of joining the vintage Instagram scene. If I’m being honest, that’s really where vintage lives nowadays. I think I’ll actually be pleased to post my daily outfit snaps. Sometimes a full shoot just takes too much executive function.

Plus, catching the Pokemans. I’ve been playing vicariously on Josh’s account, but I long for a Weedle of my very own.

tanblazeriii tanblazerix

In the meantime, enjoy some ’40s poshness and the first snow of the year!

Blazer: ’40s, via Velveteen Doll Vintage

Dress: ’70s-does-’40s, via Old Gold

Hat: ’40s, via Gem’s Vintage Gems

Gloves: via Mainly Vintage

Everything else: thrifted

tanblazerxii tanblazerx tanblazerii tanblazerxi tanblazerv tanblazerviii

1 Comment

  1. You. Are. Perfectoion. I love EVERYTHING about this outfit. The hat, the fur, the pattern of the dress, that coat… so good.

    Also your hair is fantastic.

    Wait so are you actually using Instagram for PHOTOS NOW? GRANDMA SKYE HAS INSTAGRAM. haha! I only got a smartphone because I switched over to my in-laws’ family plan and had to. I quite liked my slidey-keyboard contraption. I like feeling buttons.

Leave a Reply

