and to you your wassail too

harlequini

Christmas here on My Kingdom for a Hat isn’t quite the affair of Halloween. It’s a more private joy, less performative. But when it comes to my love of medieval and Renaissance music, the winter solstice is my time to shine.

harlequinxiiiharlequinvii

I’m here to announce that – collective gasp – you don’t have to hate Christmas music! I know seasonal music is right up there with taxes and DMV appointments in “things people love to hate”, but it’s so much more than tinny mall speakers blasting Frosty the Snowman. Here are some of my favorite little-known historical carols that – bless the thought – haven’t yet been overplayed.

harlequinxii harlequiniv

harlequinxi harlequinx

My personal favorite, though, will always be “Adeste Fideles” (or “O Come All Ye Faithful” for the plebs). My iPod boasts literally twelve different versions of it. Some highlights:

harlequinv

Blazer: ’40s vintage, via Carla Sue Vintage

Dress: Tatted Tina’s Designs

Hat: vintage, thrifted

Everything else: thrifted

harlequinii harlequinvi

3 Comments

  1. I love early choral music–I just need to find people to sing it with me! The Loreena McKennit Christmas albums are on my heavily played list. And I’ll cop to Bing Crosby and Kay Starr, too.

Leave a Reply

