ten degrees in the sun

on

woolskirtii

Throwback to June’s “96 degrees in the shade“, but no hyperbole needed this time. It actually was ten degrees. I shot this and another outfit post (dropping sometime this week!) before realizing that this wasn’t actually how I wanted to die.

woolskirtxiiiwoolskirtviii

I don’t sacrifice comfort for fashion. As a lifelong northern New Englander, I can’t afford to. We didn’t have snow days; we had days it was so cold the buses couldn’t start. One day I’ll crow cantankerously to my grandchildren: I walked uphill both ways in a blizzard.

It’s essential to my morale, though, that I try to look good anyway. Dressing up sets the tone for my entire day. In these freezing, hidebound days, that means three pairs of tights, a longline bra, and hella woolens.

woolskirtiiiwoolskirtvii

Tights, by the way, really are warmer than pants.

woolskirti

Blouse & skirt: ’50s vintage, via Barge Canal Market 

Hat: ’40s vintage, via Fancy Lucky Vintage

Gloves: vintage, via Mainly Vintage 

Everything else: thrifted

woolskirtivwoolskirtvwoolskirtxiiwoolskirtxwoolskirtix

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kristina says:

    I am really into this outfit. That blouse is EVERYTHING.

    I only sacrifice comfort for blog photos. And then I add a few layers.

  2. Janey says:

    Darling ensemble! I adore that top!

    xoxo
    -Janey

Leave a Reply

