hepburn-hued

pantsxix pantsvii

As I lean toward older styles, I’ve also come to crave something a little less feminine. Well – not less feminine exactly. I’ll never abandon shapewear and curl sets. The word I’m looking for, I think, is straightforward. ’50s looks are so visually stratified. Everything matching, not a hair out of place. More self-fabric than you could possibly eat. I’m really loving the more bohemian sensibility of the ’20s and ’30s. More textures, more competing patterns, more dialogue between masculine and feminine. It’s muddier. I like that.

pantsxxivpantsxi pantsxviii pantsv

All this #navelgazing to explain why, for the first time in years, I bought a pair of pants. I was bopping around in one of my favorite stores when these Hell Bunny slacks crossed my eye. Once I looked at my butt in them, I knew they were never coming off. I felt like the aviatrix-cum-land-girl-cum-intrepid-photojournalist I didn’t know I’d wanted to be. They came home with me, and I’ve fought to urge to wear them every day since.

pantsxx pantsi

I rarely (read: never) wear reproduction, so I hardly ever get to say this, but you can purchase these Hell Bunny slacks for your very own! Here’s what you need to know.

pantsix

I’m wearing a Medium here, or 32″ waist. After seeing the photos on Hell Bunny’s website, I suspect I should have sized up, but a size big enough to flow from my hips would gape far too much at the waist. Hell Bunny has a (deserved, I think) reputation for accommodating curvy bodies, so I was disappointed that these pants gaped as much as they did. Not too disappointed – as a 42-31-43, I’m accustomed to tailoring my own clothes – but a little shirring or even an adjustable button at the back would have been well placed. I plan to add my own, but I didn’t have the time before taking these photos.

I did have time to take up the hem (my legs are pathetically short) and make belt loops from the discarded fabric. In these pictures, it definitely looks like I hemmed too short, but I’m chalking that up to the boots I’m wearing; they’ve got a higher heel than usual. I’m hoping the length will work well with my other shoes. The fabric did seem to constrict a little after I cut it, like newly short hair bouncing into a curl. It also frayed very easily. In the two minutes it took me to set the pins for the new hem, it was already unraveling. Everything’s held together so far post-hemming, though. I’m hoping the first wash won’t do further damage. pantsxpantsii

Nevertheless, these pants are hella cute and I feel frankly like a bombshell in them. Reproduction clothes are basically fast fashion for the retro set, so I’m not outraged by the flaws I mentioned above. Any pants that flatter my thickness should be clung to at all costs. I’ve already planned pants-centric looks for every season, and I’m saving up for a slightly more structured pair. I’ve heard great things about Emmy Designs – any other recommendations?

pantsxiiipantsiv

Pants: Hell Bunny Jackson Trousers

Blazer: ’40s vintage, via Small Earth Vintage

Sweater: ’50s vintage, via Barge Canal Market

Collar: ’50s vintage, via The Getup Vintage

Everything else: thrifted

pantsxivpantsxvipantsxxiipantsxxv

One Comment Add yours

  1. lacifay says:

    These pants look amazing on you! I’ve been thinking more and more about getting some repro pants and my dear, you have convinced me! I am a dress-wearer through and through, but I think it would be a nice change to switch it up.

Leave a Reply

