pajaminated

pantsredcoati pantsredcoatix

Let me tell you a secret that I’m sure every other person on the planet has already discovered: wearing pants is like getting away with wearing pajamas in public. For someone whose life is largely centered on the goal of figuring out how to wear pajamas in public, this is a godsend. I’ve always emphasized texture in my clothes – even in tight silhouettes, the fabric has to be soft. Finding my Hell Bunny Jackson trousers was an unprecedented surge toward that end: they’re fitted enough to keep me presentable, but soft and swinging nonetheless. Walking around Montpelier in them, paired with a slouchy coat, kept me cozy as all get out.

pantsredcoativ pantsredcoatxpantsredcoatxiv

I haven’t worn this coat in over a year, not since I moved away from the shorter dresses that complemented it. Still, it’s one of my favorite pieces, so I’m thrilled that my trouser renaissance has brought it back into my life. It’s a little faded now – I, in a classic display of genius, hung it too near the window all summer and leached some of the red. I kind of like it, though. Slightly damaged pieces feel more authentically ’40s, and looking authentically ’40s is all I think about these days. pantsredcoatxviipantsredcoatxipantsredcoatxix

I cut this headscarf from a length of fabric I was lucky enough to thrift recently. Roman pots and urns! I’m planning a summer skirt with the few remaining yards. A Latin major has precious little real-world application; the least I can do is wear it on my body.

pantsredcoatxviiipantsredcoatii

Pants: Hell Bunny Jackson trousers

Coat: vintage, gifted

Everything else: thrifted

pantsredcoatiiipantsredcoatviipantsredcoatviiipantsredcoatxiii pantsredcoatxx

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

