unim(peach)able

I bought this dress (only $20!) last fall in a fit of post-season pique, and I confess I was disappointed upon its arrival. Its listing photos looked much more orange than the dress itself turned out to. As a rule, I’m not too fond of peaches and pinks. My skin tone has a yellow base; in the wrong light, a pastel dress will turn me into walking jaundice. I stashed this dress away all through autumn and winter, tacitly planning to sell it when the time was right. And then last week I put it on when nothing else was clean, and…this happened.

Turns out this dress is just orange enough to tip the scales from “sallow wench” to “porcelain goddess”. I’m thanking those lucky stars I didn’t chuck it when I had the chance, because hello summer mainstay. It’s so soft, too. The kind of softness you just don’t find anywhere but in the folds of a ’50s cotton dress. Y’all know what I’m talking about.

Dress: ’50s, Siren Call Vintage

Coat: ’50s, Barge Canal Market

Hat: ’40s, thrifted

Gloves: Mainly Vintage

Everything else: thrifted

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

