me-made may: easter come lately

on

 

 

It was only after I’d shot and edited these photos that I realized: this outfit is a lot more paschal than what I actually wore on Easter. The kitted-out church backdrop doesn’t help. Whoops! Hey, it’s five o’clock somewhere.

In my defense, this vintage fabric from Etsy’s LingonberriesAndMoss didn’t arrive until the day had come and gone. You try finding fabric this fabulous and not immediately firing up the serger. I’ve been happily mired in the late ’30s/early ’40s recently, as evidenced by my last Me-Made May post. I’m enjoying doing more with less. I had barely two yards of this fabric, and every inch of it went into this dress. Working with so little margin of error is exhilarating. A baptism by don’t you dare fuck this up.

And I’m delighted to announce that soon you, too, can be baptized! Vermonters can now officially register for the two sewing classes I’ll be teaching this summer. One, running Sundays every six weeks, will focus on pattern drafting; the other, running for a week in August, on historical reproduction. I’m holding the former in partnership with a local maker space and the latter with a local museum, and I couldn’t be more thrilled. And suffering from hella imposter syndrome, but we’ll ignore that part.

Sign up for the pattern-drafting class here and the reproduction class here!

Dress: made by me

Hat: ’30s, Barge Canal Market

Gloves: Mainly Vintage

Shoes: Old Gold

 

Leave a Reply

