the patchwork girl

I

II

…wherein I complete my transformation into a living, breathing, creeping doll. That might be the best way to articulate my style, I think: I dress like a doll. Sometimes played straight for maximum cuteness, other times subverted and turned just a little unsettling. Dolls will fuck you up, especially vaguely Ozian ones. I really enjoy presenting garish, almost juvenile femininity only to follow it up with an ass-kicking.

I’ve been reading a bit on the pervasiveness of “twee” fashion – ModCloth, saddle shoes, pigeon-toed posing. It’s often dismissed as “grown women dressing like little girls”, but I think there’s more to it than that. As one of those grown women you might consider “dressed like a little girl”, I can pretty safely say I am not sheltered or repressed. For me, the appeal (other than, y’know, straight-up liking the aesthetic) is in realizing that presentation and identity need not align 100%. Hyperfeminity doesn’t have to signal weakness. I’m a wolf in sheep’s clothing and proud of it. It’s great fun to dress in a way that implies a certain personality and then dash those implications to bits, and I suspect a lot of other “twee” women find it so as well.

I don’t think it’s a regression. I think it’s many people simultaneously realizing that identity is way more mix-and-match than they’d ever thought. Traits don’t follow in a straight line; people are way more nuanced than that. I see a similar process in punk and goth styles seeping into the mainstream. It’s finally sinking in that the way you dress says jack shit about your character, so people feel freer to adopt styles with implications they’d otherwise consider scary.

I spend way too much time thinking about clothes.

…but it’s not all I’m thinking about! I’m working on three concurrent short stories at the moment. Still undecided whether to pitch them individually or save them until I have enough for my own collection. I would, however, like to start publishing more of them on this blog. I’d design thematic outfits and make the story a total-immersion experience. Would anyone be interested in that?

III IX VII

 

IV X VI V XIII

XI XIV VIII XII

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. itsallaboutsonia says:

    i would and if you don’t try you will never know the response.
    http://www.itsallaboutsonia.com

  2. Elaine P says:

    Yes please 🙂 And if you ever decided to throw it open to a multi-media creative collab (the prompts for illu, painting, vids would be excellent) then I’d love to be involved!

  3. Anna says:

    One word: Yes! I didn’t think your blog could get any better, but that is a kick ass idea, dude! Also, I agree with your take on personal preference and fashion. I don’t think it’s a regression at all, either. Fashion is just a form of self-expression (to me, anyways). When I look at it that way, it’s hard to wrap my head around the judgments people tend to make about other people including the whole “dress your age” thing. I don’t even know wtf that means. Heh.

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

  4. Yes, PLEASE share your short stories with thematic outfits!!! I would love that!
    Also, regarding “twee” fashion — I just say, to heck with the concept that once you get to a certain age, you can’t wear certain styles of clothing (aka super girly, saddle shoes with lacy socks, whatever) because the only thing that goes out of style is bad fashion. And also booty shorts. Those things should never have been in style. 😉 haha! But seriously. It’s the 21st century. People can wear whatever they please.

Leave a Reply

