the elf in the self

ice II

ice XVII

I went to Sunday Mass this morning. I wore my Buddhist prayer beads, because I’m syncretic that way. This evening, I holed up with curry and pagan friends for a Yule ritual. Bringing back the sun. I don’t know why I find such peace in religion, but if I did, Kate of Eat the Damn Cake would say it better than I could.

There’s this feeling I get, when I come out of services at the end of the first day of Rosh Hashanah. This sense of emerging from some other place, possibly underground, or underwater, but hidden, in any case, and darker and more secret. It’s so bright outside, and the world expands abruptly, and it’s filled with normal people who are just going about their day. But I have been in this secret other place, where the day was turned sacred and ancient rites were observed, and I am still vibrating where I’ve been rung and wrung out.

It’s not about God or anything. It’s about the act of setting things aside for recognition.

ice V

ice III

There’s holiness in everything, even this monster of an ice storm that will probably strand us indoors (god forbid) tomorrow. Even the tackiness of my glorified elf costume.

ice IV

ice VII

ice X

ice XII

ice XV

Coat: for sale hereDress: Tibetan craft fair Belt: Battery Street Jeans Tights, Hat, & Shoes: Gifted

ice XVI

ice XIV

Leave a Reply

