me-made: all i need’s a fruit hat

setIIOlder ladies often find me charming, but instead of pinching my cheeks, they want to give me vintage. In twenty-four hours, one middle-aged customer at work offered to bring me her great-aunt’s hats (!!!), and another pressed a heaping sack of fabric into my arms. “It was my mother’s,” she said, “and I can’t think of a better person to have it.”

setXInside: four different prints, all neatly folded and labeled with exact yardage. I salivated all week, and on Friday night I finally sat down to my machine and banged out this set. I used Vogue 8789, that old standby, for the top. The included “petite” adjustment was the perfect crop-top length. The skirt, you boilerplate pleated number; the headwrap, the scraps. I finished in under six hours, just in time to revel in glorious kitsch at Saturday’s farmers’ market. And catch five Drowzees, but who’s counting?

setVII setIV

setII setIXsetVIII setXI

One Comment Add yours

  1. That really is one of the neatest – and most heartwarmingly – beautiful elements of wearing vintage. I think it’s such an incredible honour when someone wants to pass along vintage from their own family to me.

    This is such a fun, lovely outfit. The matching hair wrap is like the icing on the stylish cake here.

    xoxo ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

