red in suit and claw

Because I live in Vermont, May is the month I’m most inspired to take photos. Also because I live in Vermont, May is the month it’s most maddeningly difficult to take good ones. The sun bounces in and out, weaving between raindrops and poking its insolent tongue at me. Sun or shade I could work with, but both in quick succession? Forget it. I ended up with some good shots, but the whole shoot was an object lesson in anger management nonetheless.

It was unseasonably cool the day I took these. I even heard rumors of snow in the mountains. Though outwardly I balked, in secret I was glad suit season wasn’t over. I don’t feel like myself without those ’40s curves. This shade works in any season; I was glad to give it one last ride before New England summer settles.

Jacket: ’40s, Carla Sue Vintage

Skirt: ’70s, 1919 Vintage

Hat: ’40s-’50s, Barge Canal Market

Blouse: Hell Bunny (no longer available)

Shoes: thrifted

1 Comment

  1. Despite the jacket and the skirt being separates from different places, they pair so well together to create a perfect suit! The details on the jacket are just darling!! Also this hat is just all sorts of wonderful!

    xoxo
    -Janey

Leave a Reply

