me-made may: gatsby’s garden

I shot these photos earlier in the month when the trees were in full bloom, with plans to debut them on my birthday. Well, said birthday has come and gone, and because I am an actual dumpster fire assuming human form, I forgot to queue the post. That said, is there any better way to embody the ’20s than “actual dumpster fire in human form”? Nay, my friend. Nay. We’re gonna party until the stock market drops.

For my second me-made 1920s dress, I mimicked an early- to mid-decade style: a longer hemline and a fuller pleated hip. This design was a lot more intuitive to me than the last one. Rather than spend hours trying to make a trash bag flatter me, I approached the dress like the midcentury ones I know so well. Even though I lowered the waist to mid-hip, I simply pleated it just like I would a ’50s frock. It’s a less stereotypical ’20s look, but still solidly period. And less stereotypical looks, I think, actually better embody daily life. We think of “fashion decades” as discrete entities, but there’s no real there there. No solid boundary from one period to the next. The most accurate looks almost always seem a little anachronistic.

On a less navel-gazey note – can you &$%& believe this fabric? I found it in a pile of quilting supplies at Make Life Cozy‘s destash sale last month and just about died. Could there possibly be a print more emblematic of the 1920s? Once again: nay, my friend. Nay.

Dress: made by me

Parasol: antique

Everything else: thrifted

Don’t forget: I’m teaching a sloper-drafting class this coming Sunday! Friday is the last day to register.

2 Comments

  1. What delightful egyptian print fabric! Your photos look beautiful, especially the one with the pink blossoms a little in front of your face. So glamorous! My grandma once reminisced to me about her childhood and how exciting it was when king tutankhamen’s tomb was discovered.

Leave a Reply

