the devil’s carnival

fairII

…is a movie I have not yet seen, and I am quite frankly surprised my goth friends haven’t disowned me yet.

Seriously, though, carnivals and circuses are so…unsettling. Without even trying. It’s not the “creepy clown” archeypte; that’s never really done much for me, honestly. I think it’s the fact that these whole worlds, these insular, glittering universes, can be packed up and whisked away at a moment’s notice. Makes you wonder why they’re leaving in such a hurry.

Incidentally, has anyone else noticed that a lot of bloggers seem rather, uh, fixated on Disney World? It seems to cut across genre lines, honestly: almost every “big” blogger I follow has done some kind of Disney post. I’m not sure whether “people who enjoy fashion blogging” and “people who enjoy Disney World” are categories with a lot of natural overlap, or whether it’s more of a status thing. Who knows?

I do know that I, personally, find Disney World more than a little weird. I read a lot of conspiracy theories and r/truecreepy, and while I’m not sure how much of it I believe, I certainly believe enough to put me off theme parks for basically ever.

fairIV fairIII fairVIfairVIIfairVIII fairI fairIX fairX fairV fairXI

Leave a Reply

